Lewis County named first Clean Energy Community in north country

July, 2017

LOWVILLE — Lewis County is the first north country municipality to gain Clean Energy Community designation from the New York State Energy and Development Authority.

“It’s quite an honor for our county,” said Legislature Chairman Michael A. Tabolt, R-Croghan.

“We applaud Lewis County for demonstrating leadership in the north country by achieving Clean Energy Communities designation,” Amanda Lavigne, energy program director at the Adirondack North Country Association, said in a statement. “As the north country’s CEC outreach coordinator, ANCA is pleased to be working with NYSERDA to bring the significant cost savings and sustainability benefits of sustainable clean energy to our region.”

Read the full article at the Watertown Daily Times